EGA offers scholarships and awards to encourage study and excellence in needlework. Amounts awarded may vary each year. For more information, contact EGA headquarters.

Our Giving heart designates scholarships and awards available only to EGA members.


International Embroidery Conference Scholarships

  • For attendance at the 2018 IEC
  • Special scholarship opportunity due to the generosity of an anonymous donor
  • Awarded by the Scholarship Review Committee through a blind selection process
  • Scholarship Application
  • Due Date: January 15, 2018. Recipients notified February 15, 2018
  • Additional information about the IEC

Judith and Susan Richardson Initial Steps Toward Teaching Certification Scholarship

  • A scholarship to take EGA Teacher Certification in the technique of your choice.
  • Benefits teacher certification candidates in the EGA Teaching Certification Program seeking their first EGA certification.
  • Scholarship Information and Application
  • Due Date: Applications are accepted as soon as the candidate has completed the screening process

Mary-Dick Digges Scholarship

  • For the study of surface embroidery, defined as crewel embroidery, Japanese embroidery, and stumpwork.
  • Awarded by the Education Department
  • Scholarship Application
  • Due Date: March 1 of each year | Recipients notified by: April 1

             2017 Scholarship Winner: Elaine Evans

Legacy Scholarship

  • For EGA members to study the art of embroidery and the preservation of the heritage of the art of embroidery
  • Awarded by the Scholarship Review Committee
  • Scholarship Application
  • Due date: January 15 of each year | Recipients notified by March 15

    2017 Scholarship Winners: Betty Jo Scurei and India Hayford

Genny Morrow Memorial Scholarship

  • Scholarship awarded to an EGA national seminar attendee for use at the next year’s National Seminar
  • Awarded by the Board of Directors
  • Award covers one four-day or two two-day classes in a canvas technique.
  • Information is available at each National Seminar

    2016 Scholarship Winner: Terry Mullen from  Baldwinsville, NY

Penny Evans Memorial Scholarship

  • For EGA members for an embroidery related class, study project, or similar education offering by EGA, The Royal School of Needlework, the San Francisco School of Needlework and Design, or the City and Guilds of London Institute, in the U.S. or the U.K.
  • Awarded by the Scholarship Review Committee
  • Scholarship Application
  • Due date: May 1 of each year | Recipients notified by: June 1

    2017 Scholarship Winner: Carson Wos

Marjorie Jones Scholarship

  • Awarded to benefit students of crewel embroidery taking a crewel class at EGA’s National Seminar or an EGA region seminar.
  • Scholarship Application
  • Due Date: April 1 of each year | Recipients notified by May 1

    2017 Scholarship Winner: Elaine Evans

Research Fellowship Grant Award

  • Applicants need not be members of EGA
  • Awarded for in-depth research in all areas of embroidery and allied textile arts, and to create a basis for dialogue between EGA and other grant and research institutions.
  • Grants of up to $1,000 are awarded annually.
  • Scholarship Application
  • Due Date: June 1 of each year | Recipient notified by September 1

    2016 Grant Recipients: Deneen Wilson and Marie-Renée Otis


Bobbie Pilling Memorial Award

  • This annual award, established to honor a treasure of EGA, a longtime supporter and former national president, Barbara (Bobbie) Pilling, is presented to an EGA member who has "gone outside the box" with an original piece of needlework that shows personal growth and artistic merit. The accompanying statement should address both personal growth and artistic merit and explain how the stitcher throught “outside the box.”
  • Award information
  • Due Date: May 1, 2018 | Winners announced at EGA National Seminar
  • Send paperwork to with Pilling Award in the subject line.
  • First Place - Found in a Berry Patch, Suzanne Osterberg
  • Second Place - Renewal, Birgit Ruotsala
  • Third Place - Hope, Marilu Morency


Gold Thread Award

The annual awards recognize outstanding individuals who have given freely of their time and talents, and best exemplify EGA’s purpose. A total of 13 individuals may be acknowledged – one of each region, with a national recipient selected from among the region recipients.

  • Printable Nomination Form
  • Due Date: May 1 of each year 

    2017 Gold Thread Award Winners
  • Carolinas: Sue Osterberg
  • Great Lakes Region: Linda Busalacchi
  • Greater Pacific Region: Robin Berry
  • Heartland Region: Solveig Walstrom
  • Mid-Atlantic Region: Catherine Jordan
  • Mid-Eastern Region: Terry Faber
  • New England Region: Linda Marchand
  • Pacific Southwestern Region: Carol Hutte
  • Rocky Mountain Region: Janice Wood
  • Sun Region: Laurie Hardin
  • Tennesse Valley Region: Nita Vollmer

    National Gold Thread Award Winner: Solveig Walstrom


More EGA Scholarships & Awards information:

  • Scholarships are not transferable to any other person.
  • Scholarships may not be used for any purpose other than the stated purpose on the application.
  • Any EGA member may apply without regard to gender, race, religion, national or ethnic origin.
  • Applications are reviewed by the EGA Scholarship Committee in a blind process.
  • The Committee reserves the right to withhold scholarships in any given year if there are no appropriate applications.
  • A single individual may submit only one application per scholarship.
  • A single individual may be awarded only one EGA Scholarship per year.

Login Form

Your User Name is your EGA member number.

This is the post-text message.